When you are facing drug possession charges in Michigan, you are facing serious penalties with life-long repercussions. Fortunately, you have options. You are not penalized until you are proven guilty. So, now is the time to take action.
Drug possession charges aren’t serious charges when you compare them with something like rape or murder. But, a drug conviction can certainly change your life. From possible prison time to the difficulties associated with getting a job with a criminal conviction—the long term consequences are severe.
As with other states, the charge and possible sentence you face depends on the drug you are caught with and how much of it you have. This page is designed to provide a simple overview of Michigan drug possession laws. If you are charged with a crime like this, the best advice can come from a local criminal defense lawyer, and we can help put you in contact with one.
Marijuana Possession Laws
In the state of Michigan, marijuana possession has not been decriminalized. This means, no matter how much you are caught with, you can be charged with a crime.
Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge which carries up to one year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
While a first time offense will likely result in probation, there are no guarantees. Working with a defense attorney can help ensure that you are able to take advantage of the legal options available to you, potentially lessening the penalty you face.
Cocaine/Heroin/Meth Possession Laws
Cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamines are classified as Schedule I and Schedule II drugs. This means they are the most addictive and considered the most dangerous drugs by the state of Michigan. The potential charge and penalty you face depends on the quantity of drugs you are caught with.
However, possession of these substances is always a felony charge.
|Quantity||Maximum Potential Sentence|
|Less than 50 grams||4 years in prison and $25,000 in fines|
|Between 50 and 450 grams||20 years in prison and $250,000 in fines|
|Between 450 and 1,000 grams||30 years in prison and $500,000 in fines|
|More than 1,000 grams||Life in prison and $1 million in fines|
Other commonly charged Schedule II drugs include Ectasy (MDMA, Molly), mushrooms, and a wide variety of prescription opiates, painkiller, narcotics and other pharmaceuticals.
Felony drug charges are no joke.
In order to be convicted and sentenced for a crime like this, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you had a substance that was, in fact, a drug, and it was in your possession. This doesn’t necessarily mean that it was in your pocket or your hand, but that you had immediate control over it. If the drugs were in your car or home, or even lying next to you on the sidewalk, you could be charged with possession.
When facing penalties like this, you need someone on your side. Let us put you in touch with a local criminal defense attorney today.