Colorado is one of two states that has legalized marijuana possession. If you are 21 or older, use or possession of under 1oz of weed is legal under state law.
However, there are still ways to run afoul of the law, even with marijuana.
It is still a crime to:
- possess more than one ounce of marijuana
- have marijuana if you are under 21 years old
- Sell or distribute marijuana without a license
- possess other controlled substances
A possession charge has the potential to dramatically change your life—both on a short term basis and a long term one. From spending a few nights in jail to having to cope with a criminal record, the consequences of a conviction can be quite severe.
But, being charged with a crime doesn’t necessarily mean you will be convicted of a crime. In other words, you still have options. A local Colorado criminal defense lawyer can help you determine those options and the best course of action for your case. We can put you in touch with an attorney who will offer a free initial consultation.
If, you are arrested with more than one ounce, you will face criminal charges.
More than one ounce and less than eight ounces of marijuana warrants a Class 1 misdemeanor charge. If convicted, this offense carries six to 18 months in jail and fines reaching $5,000.
If you are caught with more than eight ounces of marijuana, you will face Class 5 felony charges. This felony can carry up to three years in prison and fines reaching $100,000.
Possession of Cocaine, Heroin, or Methamphetamines
If you are accused of possessing something like cocaine, heroin, or meth, you face far more serious charges. The exact charge and penalty you face depends on your criminal history. If you have an existing record, you will obviously be charged with a more serious offense.
First Offense: Your first offense of possession of drugs (heroin, cocaine, and meth) is classified as a Class 3 felony. A charge like this carries 4 to 12 years in prison and fines reaching $750,000.
Second Offense: If this is your second offense, you face Class 2 felony charges, which carry 8 to 24 years in prison and fines up to $1 million.
The stakes are high and you likely feel like your back is against the wall. A local criminal defense lawyer can be your advocate when you are up against charges like this in the state of Colorado.