Arkansas

No matter where you are caught with drugs, you could face potentially life changing repercussions.  And in Arkansas, the penalties are particularly severe.

But whatever lead you to a drug possession charge, now it’s something you have to deal with. You may just be a recreational marijuana user, and it’s had no negative impact on your life. Yet marijuana possession is still illegal, unfortunately. Or perhaps you admit that you have a drug problem and are in need of help. But, maybe a passenger in your car had drugs and both of you were charged. Both of these situations, and many others like them, result in Arkansas drug charges every single day. And in both cases, you have options.

The first step in mounting a successful criminal defense is knowing exactly what you are up against in order to determine how best to fight the charges.

Possession of Marijuana

Last year the state of Arkansas passed new laws regarding the possession of marijuana. Now, rather than facing an automatic criminal charge for possession, a judge can elect to order you to probation, bypassing the court and trial procedure in an effort to reduce the number of people being filtered through the criminal justice system.

If you are formally charged with possessing less than 4 ounces, you could face misdemeanor charges and up to one year in jail for a first-time offense. If this isn’t your first offense, or if you are found possessing more than 4 ounces, you will be charged with a felony, resulting in a potential sentence of up to 6 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000.

Possession of Heroin

Heroin is a highly addictive and dangerous drug. It is classified as one of those with the highest risk of addiction, as a Schedule I substance. Therefore, if you are accused of possessing heroin, you can expect to face maximum potential penalties if convicted.

In general, the following charges apply when you are accused of possessing heroin:

Amount Charge Potential Sentence
Less than 2 grams Class D Felony Up to 6 years in prison and fines
2 grams to 28 grams Class C Felony 3-10 years and fines
28 grams or more Class B Felony 5-20 years and fines

 

Possession of Cocaine and Methamphetamine

Cocaine and meth are both addictive and considered dangerous, like heroin. And like heroin, they carry serious penalties.

Amount Charge Potential Sentence
Less than 2 grams Class D Felony Up to 6 years in prison and fines
2 grams to 10 grams Class C Felony 3-10 years and fines
10 grams or more Class B Felony 5-20 years and fines

 

Possession of Other Drugs

If you are charged with possession of other drugs, whether they are prescription medications or illicit drugs like ecstasy, the penalty you face depends on a variety of factors, including how much of the drugs you have on you and your criminal record.

When up against potential prison time and the designation as a convicted drug offender, you need someone in your corner. Despite how it feels, you do have options and a criminal defense attorney can be there to help ensure those options are explored and that your rights are protected throughout the entire criminal justice process.

Please call for a legal consultation on any charge. You will learn about the penalties you could face under Arkansas drug possession laws, and more importantly, what you can do to fight the charges, and defend your rights.