You don’t have to be caught with drugs in your pocket to be charged with possession. Merely having them “in your control” is enough. This means that drugs in your car, your home, or even next to you in public could warrant a possession charge and subsequent serious penalties.
From the moment you are arrested for drug possession in the state of Alabama, it can feel like no one is on your side. The police and the prosecutor certainly aren’t. And with penalties that can truly change your life, you need an advocate willing to go to bat for you.
We can put you in contact with a local criminal defense lawyer to help explore your legal options and fight your Alabama drug possession charges.
Drug Possession Charges & Penalties
The penalty you face if convicted for drug possession depends on the drug you are caught with and the amount in your possession. Generally, however, you will face at least one year in prison. Aside from marijuana possession, all other Alabama drug possession charges are felonies.
Also, in the state of Alabama, if you are found carrying several grams of a drug, or a larger quantity, you could be subject to harsh mandatory minimum sentences. For instance, a conviction of possessing more than 28 grams of cocaine carries a mandatory 3 year sentence.
Along with a possibly lengthy prison sentence, you will face hefty fines and other repercussions. A criminal record is, perhaps, the most serious penalty as it will haunt you indefinitely—making it difficult to find employment and even, perhaps, a place to live.
Penalties for marijuana possession are slightly less severe. But, the state of Alabama has not decriminalized pot possession. This means, you will likely face criminal charges if caught.
In general, marijuana possession is classified as a misdemeanor offense and carries one year in jail and a potential $6,000 in fines. However, if you are caught with a significant amount of pot—several ounces for example—you could be charged with possessing with the intent to sell. This is a felony charge and carries much harsher penalties.
Also, if this isn’t your first marijuana charge, what would be a misdemeanor can be elevated to a Class C felony. This offense is classified as “possession of marijuana in the first degree” and carries from one to ten years in prison and fines reaching $15,000.
Alabama judges are not lenient on drug offenders. To them, this is not a victimless crime. When you are facing the potential for jail or prison time, you need someone on your side.